Beauty Counter Review

It’s finals time and I’ve recently started using two moisturizers that I want to tell you about. I bought these from drugstore.com, so the prices may vary from what you’ll see in your local drugstore. Disclaimer: I have oily skin that’s very acne-prone. Thus, if you have dry or normal skin, my critiques may not be an issue for you!

1. Neutrogena Healthy Skin Face Lotion with SPF 15, $11.99


Pros: It’s a multi-vitamin moisturizer with Alpha-Hydroxy. The other active ingredients are  Octinoxate and Oxybenzone. I try to use it everyday. After applying it, my face feels moisturized and I think my complexion has actually been clearing. I really like the design of the packaging. It really makes the products look  professional and legitimate.

Cons: The moisture I sometimes feel may look a bit greasy. I would suggest applying this product very liberally!

2. Neturogena Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream (Night), $13.99


Pros: This is also a mutli-vitamin facial moisturizer, but of course it’s used at night. The main ingredient, retinol,   which contains vitamin A and actively fights to reduce wrinkles. I would love to say that my smile lines are gone  have reduced but I’m not sure. Now I know you’re thinking, why treat wrinkles when you’re young? Well, I consider it an investment; if I’m kind to my skin now, hopefully it will be kind back to me when I’m 120 (unless science keeps us living longer!). It’s also good to start working against them when they first appear, instead of waiting until you’re 40. Again, I try to apply this every night, but sometimes late night studying causes me to forget. When I do remember, I try to apply it close to my eyes, (but not on them!) since that region lacks oil glands, and around my lower face (tends to be a bit dryer).

Cons: This cream also feels too thick or heavy, however, since it’s a night cream, I don’t mind.

Verdict: Hopefully by the end of this month I’ll be able to see visible results. I have been breaking out due to finals, the changing seasons and stress from interviewing for a summer internship. However, I believe that once my life is back to normal, and I eat healthy foods, and use these products more regularly, I’ll have better skin. I got over the greasiness since I feel as though my skin is truly getting moisturized. I would recommend these two products as long as you wear a matting face powder if you have oily skin!

With these I wash my face with Cetaphil and use a clay mask every now and then I’d like to use it more regularly.

Which products do you use daily? How are they working for you? Also, what do you think about the new layout?

Stay Beautiful!

G

Leave a Reply

