In need of inspiration

I’ve been feeling rather un-inspired lately; perhaps due to the number of important decisions I’ve had to make this week,  my excitement to begin my summer work next week, or the simple fact that I’ve been sleeping like it’s nobody’s business ever since I came home from final exams. I haven’t finished Classy yet (my storage won’t be delivered until 2 weeks from now), but I was able to pick up another book: Bergdorf Blondes. I have to say, my taste in literature is quite eclectic. I like serious non-fiction books that help you advance your career, health or personal relationships, then I like fiction books about society, class, the good life (my boyfriend hates when I read these), then I like mystery books (Agatha Christie’s my favorite author for this genre). Bergdorf Blondes isn’t a book that I’d recommend, since I have a bit of a hard time relating to the main characters. They’re beyond superficial, but I’ll finish it anyway, maybe I can learn from their mistakes?

Update: the main characters seem to come full circle (get some common sense, and become a tad more down to earth and insightful) while maintaining a bit of their ditziness.

Anyway, I’m going apartment shopping this week and am definitely looking forward to finding some good deals. I’ve just about searched every crevice on Ikea’s website and hopefully my parents will take me there in the next few days. I’m also still working on a color scheme. I’m thinking of playing with these colors:

cerulean

white

orange

espresso

The colors that I’m definitely sure about are white and espresso. I want a white bed and for all of my furniture to be a rich, dark espresso brown color, almost black. I’m not sure about the cerulean or orange, and these colors can be changed. I found these chairs online though, that I might want to buy:

These blue chairs will go in the kitchen. Then I was thinking about two arm chairs for a “conversation” area, but don’t know if I want them to be more architectural and modern or upholstered.

I love this buttery brown Barcelona two-seater. Very modern and chic (my sister thinks it looks like a futon, but I disagree.) I could use this color instead of orange. But I don’t know.

Surprisingly, getting the same chair in white is cheaper, but dealing with white leather may be too much maintenance for me!

This is the bed I want. So far I scored two 300ct Calvin Klein down feather pillows for $15 each (sooo comfy!). Now I’ve got to get some sheets and a down comforter.

G

Leave a Reply

