Spring 2013 (NYFW)

My favorite looks and trends from the city that never sleeps.

Christian Siriano

I love the ease of this dress, and the fact that it can be dressed up or down depending on the occasion.

Jenni Kayne

I love the simplicity and structure of this dress.

Monique Lhuillier

Peplum tops and skinny pants, my two favorite items. I’m so glad that peplum is hanging around for another season, though, I have yet to purchase any garment in the cut!

Milly

I definitely have a soft spot for graphic black and white dresses.  This one by Milly looks so effortless.

Tibi

I’ve always been a huge fan of this silhouette.

Tracy Reese

Sporty chic is how I would describe this look. If I were to wear it in real life, I’d probably reduce the volume on the lower half by choosing slimmer slouch pants

General Observations

Designers this season, especially those at BCBG Max Azria, really seemed to be into harnesses both over and under the outfit. Also, the color-blocking pastels of last spring were turned into smoothies this year as designers blended the colors for a more subtle effect. Sheer was back again, as were cutouts. There wasn’t as much leather as I would have liked, but oh well!

G

[Click on photos for sources]
Leave a Reply

