NYFW Favorites

Unlike others in the blogging world, I actually wasn’t too interested in NYFW. In fact, I didn’t even look at runway stills until I started writing this post. Perhaps the debates on whether or not fashion shows and fashion weeks still matter have affected my interest in them. Recently, I have been taking cues from what’s sold in stores and what my favorite bloggers and fashion personalities are wearing. I’m more apt to re-pin an outfit I like than scroll through the slideshow of a particular designer’s presentation. This isn’t to say that designers’ collections are irrelevant. I’m slowly learning which designers’ aesthetics fit my personality and I’m excited to see that list grow. However, the idea of trends doesn’t sit too well with me anymore.

My issue is that to follow trends, I either have to spend a little bit of money (Forever 21, Zara) or a lot of money (at some high-end retailer). I don’t want to be wasteful but I don’t want to dump a significant amount of money into something that will look dated in a few seasons. So I just ignore trends. I focus more on what I find beautiful and the story I’d like for my attire to tell.

Below are the designs that inspire me the most for this upcoming fall (you can never start building your future wardrobe too early right?)

Thakoon

Cushnie et Ochs
 
Rachel Zoe
 
Prabal Gurung
 
Helmut Lang
 
Jason Wu
 
Narciso Rodriguez
 
[Click on Photos for Sources]

G

Leave a Reply

