Beauty Duty

On my most recent trip to Whole Foods, I decided to pick up a product I’ve heard about for at least the past 6 years: Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay. It’s 100% Natural Calcium Bentonite (aka green clay).

As I prepare for my upcoming wedding (4 months to go!) I want to ensure that my skin, hair and teeth look great! Fortunately or unfortunately, I’d rather save up for an awesome honeymoon than shell out hundreds of dollars for expensive treatments. So, I’ve returned to my “roots” with a few DIYs.

Teeth

I found a teeth whitening recipe on Pinterest (don’t judge!) and before I tried it, I got the green light from my dentist. I brush my teeth with this mixture once a week until they’re as white as I’d like, then I’ll switch to doing this once a month.

Recipe:

a drop or two of Toothpaste

1 teaspoon Hydrogen Peroxide

 1 teaspoon Baking Soda

whiten-teeth-at-home

[not my teeth, photo from Google.com]

* I’ve switched to a “sensitive” toothpaste to ensure that I don’t destroy my teeth or gums. I’m not 100% sold on the results yet and may give in and buy Crest Whitestrips if I don’t get the look I want within the next two months!

Skin

For my skin, I’ve been making a green clay mask using this clay powder from Whole Foods once a week. It tingles for about 30 minutes after you rinse it off, but my normally large pores have never looked better.

Recipe for one person:

1/2 teaspoon clay powder

1/2 teaspoon of Apple Cider Vinegar

1/4 teaspoon of water

Honey (optional)

aztec-secrets-indian-healing-clay-benotite-clay1       

General Health Steps:

I’ve been taking biotin for a few months now to encourage my now-past-shoulder length hair to grow grow grow! I choose a “medium” strength compound after reading about people having bad reactions to excessive biotin (strange hair growth and cystic pimples).

Also, I’ve been training for a 5k (ran last Sunday!) and attending regular pilates and yoga classes.

I’ve added more smoothies to my weekly meals and up-ed my oatmeal consumption (complete with ground flax seed for omega-3s and almond milk since I’m lactose-intolerant) to about 4 times a week.

So far, most of these measures have proven successful. My skin glows more and old acne spots are clearing up much more rapidly. I also lost a tiny bit of weight (I think my increase in oatmeal and smoothies is to credit here) and I have more energy.

Are any events in your life affecting your beauty routine? 

G

Leave a Reply

