Take a Deep Breath

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it on the blog before, but I’ve been practicing yoga for the past 2 years. I first considered yoga a true “workout” a few years ago when I attended hot yoga sessions at CorePower Yoga for a full summer. THAT was intense.

Since then, I’ve practiced morning yoga at my old boxing gym, then at a small studio, and with girlfriends for an aerial yoga session in NYC for my Bachelorette party this summer (amazing experience at the Om Factory) and now I have a home practice in my apartment (rent in this city is already through the roof!).

IMG_0222

Now that I practice in my home (and sometimes go to free sessions in nearby parks and studios), I’ve finally decided to learn more about the various types of yoga and find out which styles are best for me.

First, I had to consider my personality, needs and goals. I’m a pretty competitive, “type-A” person who gets bored easily and always needs a challenge. But! I also gain muscle very easily and want to be more flexible and centered. Finally, yoga isn’t my sole source of exercise; I also run, play tennis and racquetball and sometimes try to golf. Accordingly, the yoga styles I choose have to be fun or else I won’t stick with them.

I took a series of “best yoga for you” quizzes and have decided to focus on two types:

1.  Vinyasa yoga: According to Gaiam.com, vinyasa (Sankrit for “flow”) involves smoothly transitioning from one pose to another while testing your physical limits.  This style definitely fits my personality and need to sweat!

2. Iyengar yoga: Gaiam.com describes Iyengar yoga as a meticulous style of yoga where form and alignment matter. I hope that this style of yoga will help me focus and become more patient. Living in the city, I’m always jumping from one place/task to another. Taking the time to pay attention gives me a moment to be calm during an otherwise busy week.

[Image from Google.com]

To maintain my home practice, I’ve found many instructors on Youtube, simply by searching for “vinyasa yoga intermediate” or “Iyengar yoga”. Then, I try to practice vinyasa yoga twice a week, Iyengar yoga twice a week and run once or twice a week. One downside to practicing at home is that I’ve gotten behind on updating my “equipment”. My current mat is falling apart, but I hope to replace it soon!

G

Leave a Reply

